New China (bad)

7 01 2009
They even get attacked for getting some nice china donated to the White House. Geeez, how low will people go to knock the Bush’s?
Well, I shouldn’t be surprised. After all, it’s the negatives that the press and the liberals love to wallow in.
Today, at the White House, all of the living Presidents met with Barack Obama. Sort of a show and tell I’d guess. When you get to that level and are dealing with the actual nuts and bolts of running the country there really isn’t that huge amount of differences between Republican and Democrats, that stuff is left pretty much to the underlings.
“Whether we’re Democrat or Republican, we care deeply about this country.” Bush said today. I believe that’s true. There are differences in capability, but I’d hope that they really do have our countries best interest at heart.
Someone once told me (someone who should know) that politics was just a game, played out among powerful people. Most of the “issues” we concern ourselves with don’t really get the play we think they do. Maybe that’s why there is such frustration sometimes with our politicians.
I was also told that one of George W Bush’s best friends was past Democrat Senator John Breaux, with whom he visited almost daily. I don’t know if that was true or not, but I suspect it is.
Maybe that didn’t make too much press cause it would have been hard to spin a negative out of it.

At the White House today Obama was asked if he could learn from the mistakes of the past Presidents. He just smiled and said that he hoped to learn from their successes. That there had been successes probably never crossed that reporters mind. Just the negatives.

“One message that I have, and I think we all share, is that we want you to succeed,” said Bush to Obama. I second that. I know that there are some of my conservative brethren that want Obama to fail, but for him to fail we would fail also.

Bush has made me proud. No, I havn’t always agreed with him. In fact he’s infuriated me numerous times. But he has, as they say, taken a lick’n and kept on tick’n. Never giving in to the popular or the most political expedient, which when you boil it all down, really is what we want in a leader, isn’t it?

There is a vast difference between the halls of congress and the White House. Congressmen and Senators can play to cameras and constituents, then give a thousand reasons for their actions or inactions. A President has to sign his name on the dotted line.

My biggest fear is that our new incoming President won’t stand up to those in his party that would lead him astray. I hope Barack Obama will be his own man. And I hope that we, the loyal opposition, don’t make this a game of trivial pursuit.

-Al
 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

